Palmerstown - New Communities
"Old Palmerston" refers to the area of the village that was built in the decade from 1955 and 1965. Old Palmerston (newer than Old Palmerstown Village!) is bounded on one side by Wheatfield Road, on another by Kennelsfort roads, and on the third side by the N4.
Manor Road, within Old Palmerston, is the main local shopping area with a few newsagents, dry cleaners, hairdressers, several takeaways, a butcher, the local credit union and a doctor's surgery. At the top of Manor Road is Redcow Farm, one of the early housing schemes for which the Manor Road shopping area was built to service. The name refers to the farm which formerly occupied the land in the area. The area shows further examples of the good planning absent from some other areas in South Dublin, with Glenaulin Park nearby, the home of both Palmerstown United FC and St. Patrick’s GAA Club.
After the 1955 to 1965 building phase came the 1970s building boom which gave birth to Woodfarm Acres which prior to this time was also farmland with a scattering of rural cottages. This area was also planned with its own shopping area, with a large supermarket, newsagents, hairdressers, video store and the Silver granite Pub opposite. It even boasts its own bowling alley.
Primary schools in the area include St Bridget's Girls National School and St. Lorcan's Boys' school. Pobalscoil Isolde is the local Secondary School.
The ancient fortification of Irishtown Castle gives its name to the housing estate which surrounds the structure , also built in the 1970s along with Johnstown Estate and Yellow Walls.
The population growth of Palmerstown has not been as aggressive as that in nearby Lucan.
Population growth in Palmerstown
Source: CSO census data